RELEASE
March 25, 2003
LABEL
Polydor
GENRES
Pop/Rock, British Blues, Psychedelic, Blues-Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock, British Psychedelia, Regional Blues

Album Review

This compilation of 22 Cream BBC tracks from 1966-1968 marked a major addition to the group's discography, particularly as they released relatively little product during their actual lifetime. All of but two of these cuts ("Lawdy Mama" and the 1968 version of "Steppin' Out," which had appeared on Eric Clapton's Crossroads box) were previously unreleased, and although many of these had made the round on bootlegs, the sound and presentation here is unsurprisingly preferable. As for actual surprises, there aren't many. It's a good cross section of songs from their studio records, though a couple, "Steppin' Out" and "Traintime," only appeared on live releases, and some of these BBC takes actually predate the release and recording of the album versions, which makes them of historical interest for intense Cream fans. (There are also four brief interviews with Eric Clapton from the original broadcasts.) There's a mild surprise in the absence of a version of "White Room," but otherwise many of the group's better compositions and covers are here, including "I Feel Free," "N.S.U.," "Strange Brew," "Tales of Brave Ulysses," "Sunshine of Your Love," "Born Under a Bad Sign," "Outside Woman Blues," "Crossroads," "We're Going Wrong," "I'm So Glad," "SWLABR," and "Politician." Cream took better advantage of the live-in-the-studio BBC format than some groups of similar stature. There's a lean urgency to most of the performances that, while not necessarily superior to the more fully realized and polished studio renditions, do vary notably in ambience from the more familiar versions. The sound quality is good but not perfect, and variable; sometimes it's excellent, yet at other times there seem to be imperfections in the tapes sourced, with "Sunshine of Your Love" suffering from a (not grievously) hollow, muffled quality. If there's any other slight criticism of this set, it's that a handful of BBC tracks don't appear, including some that don't make it onto this CD in any version, like "Sleepy Time Time," "Toad," and "Sitting on Top of the World." Given Cream's tendency to over-improvise on the band's live concert recordings, however, the concise nature of these BBC tracks (none of which exceed five minutes) makes them preferable listening in some respects.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sweet Wine [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/sweet-wine-live/id994045?i=993960&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Eric Clapton Interview, No. 1 [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/eric-clapton-interview-no-1/id994045?i=993962&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Wrapping Paper [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/wrapping-paper-live/id994045?i=993964&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Rollin' and Tumblin' [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/rollin-and-tumblin-live/id994045?i=993970&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Steppin' Out [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/steppin-out-live/id994045?i=993972&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Crossroads [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/crossroads-live/id994045?i=993974&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Cat's Squirrel [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/cats-squirrel-live/id994045?i=993976&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Traintime [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/traintime-live/id994045?i=993978&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. I'm So Glad [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/im-so-glad-live/id994045?i=993980&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Lawdy Mama [#]
  11. Eric Clapton Interview, No. 2 [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/eric-clapton-interview-no-2/id994045?i=994007&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. I Feel Free [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/i-feel-free-live/id994045?i=994009&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. N.S.U. [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/n-s-u-live/id994045?i=994011&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Four Until Late [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/four-until-late-live/id994045?i=994013&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Strange Brew [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/strange-brew-live/id994045?i=994015&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Eric Clapton Interview, No. 3 [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/eric-clapton-interview-no-3/id994045?i=994018&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Tales of Brave Ulysses [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/tales-of-brave-ulysses-live/id994045?i=994020&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. We're Going Wrong [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/were-going-wrong-live/id994045?i=994022&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. Eric Clapton Interview, No. 4 [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/eric-clapton-interview-no-4/id994045?i=994024&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. Born Under a Bad Sign [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/born-under-a-bad-sign-live/id994045?i=994026&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. Outside Woman Blues [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/outside-woman-blues-live/id994045?i=994028&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. Take It Back [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/take-it-back-live/id994045?i=994030&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. Sunshine of Your Love [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/sunshine-of-your-love-live/id994045?i=994032&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  24. Politician [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/politician-live/id994045?i=994035&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  25. Swlabr [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/swlabr-live/id994045?i=994041&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  26. Steppin' Outhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/steppin-out-live/id994045?i=994043&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album