September 17, 1997
Eagle Rock
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

After spending several years on hiatus, Hall & Oates reunited in 1997 for Marigold Sky, their first album since 1990's Change of Season. Where its predecessor found the duo struggling to stay contemporary, Marigold Sky finds them relaxing into maturity, recording a collection of appealingly smooth, well-crafted soul-pop. There isn't anything as energetic as their early-'80s hits, nor is there anything unforgettably catchy, but it's a well-made album with a number of winning songs illustrating that even if Hall & Oates are past their peak, they nevertheless are capable of making engaging music.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Romeo Is Bleeding
  2. Marigold Sky
  3. The Sky Is Falling
  4. Out of the Blue
  5. Want To
  6. Love Out Loud
  7. Throw the Roses Away
  8. I Don't Think So
  9. Promise Ain't Enough
  10. Time Won't Pass Me By
  11. Hold on to Yourself
  12. War of Words