December 30, 1991
Latin, World Fusion, Mambo, Cuban Traditions, Afro-Cuban Jazz, Cuban Jazz, Latin Jazz

Album Review

The most famous (and common) Machito performances feature his infectious Cuban band welcoming guests from the bebop world. This CD is different, for it has 24 selections from the 1948-1949 period by Machito & His Afro-Cuban Salseros without the assistance of famous names. Utilizing three trumpets (including Mario Bauza), four saxophones, piano, bass, four percussionists, and the vocals of the leader and Gracilea, the high-powered and always danceable band is heard throughout the CD in prime form. Whether playing originals, updated folk songs, or jazz standards, Machito's mighty crew was the pacesetter in Latin jazz of the era. This important release gives listeners a strong example of how the Afro-Cuban jazz band probably sounded live in concert.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Asia Minor
  2. Un Poquito de Tu Amor
  3. Tumbla el Quinto
  4. Jungle Drums
  5. Llora Timbero
  6. Vive Como Yo
  7. Babarabatiri
  8. Cleopatra Rumba (Desert Dance)
  9. U-Bla-Ba-Du
  10. El Sopon
  11. Gone City
  12. Babalu
  13. Vaya Nina
  14. Hall of the Mambo King
  15. Donkey Serenade
  16. Mambo Jambo
  17. At Sundown
  18. Why Do I Love You?
  19. Mambo Is Here to Stay
  20. Rose Room
  21. Tea for Two
  22. Finaliza un Amor
  23. The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise
  24. St. Louis Blues