November 01, 1992
Shimmy Disc
Pop/Rock, Dream Pop, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Slowcore, Alternative Singer/Songwriter

Album Review

The first Damon & Naomi LP since the demise of Galaxie 500, More Sad Hits is the duo's strongest effort, although it pales in comparison to the greatness of their former band. In fact, this gauzy LP even fails to measure up to the gorgeous self-titled EP that Damon & Naomi previously released under the name Pierre Etoile, which featured the superb "This Car Climbed Mt. Washington" (of which a less-inspired remake appears here). While far too self-consciously arty for its own good, More Sad Hits does contain a few lovely moments. Chief among them are the hypnotic "Little Red Record Co.," and an inspired cover of the Soft Machine's "Moments."
Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. E.T.A.
  2. Little Red Record Co.
  3. Information Age
  4. Laika
  5. This Car Climbed Mt. Washington
  6. Memories
  7. Astrafiammante
  8. Boston's Daily Temperature
  9. (Scene Change)
  10. Sir Thomas and Sir Robert
  11. Once More
  12. This Changing World
purchase full album