June 30, 2008
Reggae, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Reggae-Pop, Urban, Club/Dance, Contemporary Reggae

Album Review

Although extremely miserly, this collection is budget-priced, spanning Eddy Grant's career and hitting most of his high points. In the States, the Guyana-born, British-bred star only placed two singles in the chart, and the first, "Electric Avenue," kicks off this set. Grant was already well established in the U.K. by the time he rocked up Brixton's legendary street in 1983, and so the set scoops up several earlier, seminal numbers. "Hello Africa" featured on his debut full-length and "Walking on Sunshine" entitled his follow-up, an album that also included the potent "Living on the Frontline." However, it was Killer on the Rampage that struck a chord in the U.S., launching "Electric" into the charts, while finding further success back home with "War Party" and "I Don't Wanna Dance." Going for Broke brought with it "Romancing the Stone," his second U.S. hit, with two more tracks from that set appearing here. And then it all went pear-shaped, with Grant's next two albums failing to thrill, although his hope-filled anti-apartheid anthem "Gimme Hope Jo'anna" returned him to the British chart. The set then fast-forwards to 2005, pulling "Gotta Be Positive" from the singer's Reparation album. There are obviously much more inclusive sets out there, but for the price, this is the minimum one could expect.
Jo-Ann Greene, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Electric Avenue
  2. Electric Avenue
  3. Gimme Hope Jo'anna
  4. Gimme Hope Jo'anna
  5. Romancing the Stone
  6. Romancing the Stone
  7. Walking on Sunshine
  8. Walking on Sunshine
  9. Do You Feel My Love
  10. Do You Feel My Love
  11. I Don't Wanna Dance
  12. I Don't Wanna Dance
  13. Come on Let Me Love You
  14. Come on Let Me Love You
  15. Boys in the Street
  16. Boys in the Street
  17. Living on the Frontline
  18. Living on the Frontline
  19. War Party
  20. War Party
  21. Gotta Be Positive
  22. Gotta Be Positive
purchase full album